About The Curriculum

July 07, 2017
HIV HCV Curriculum Logo


This curriculum was developed as a component of the Secretary's Minority AIDS Initiative Funded Jurisdictional Approach to Curing Hepatitis C among HIV/HCV Co-infected People of Color – Jurisdictional Sites project through the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) HIV/AIDS Bureau (HAB). The award period began on October 1, 2016.


This program supports 3 Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program (RWHAP) Part A grant recipients, 2 RWHAP Part B grant recipients, 1 Evaluation and Technical Assistance Center (ETAC), and the AIDS Education and Training Center National Coordinating Resource Center (AETC NCRC) to:

  • Increase jurisdiction-level capacity to provide comprehensive screening, care, and treatment for HCV among HIV/HCV co-infected RWHAP clients
  • Increase the numbers of HIV/HCV co-infected people who are diagnosed, treated, and cured of HCV infection
  • Address health disparities among cure of HCV among persons of color with HIV

Jurisdictional Sites

  • The 3 RWHAP Part A Special Projects of National Significance (SPNS) Demonstration Site awardees are:
    • Hartford Department of Health (Hartford, CT)
    • New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (New York, NY)
    • Philadelphia Department of Public Health (Philadelphia, PA)
  • The 2 RWHAP Part B awardees are:
    • North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
    • Louisiana Department of Health
  • The ETAC for the project:
    • The RAND Corporation (Arlington, VA)

AETC Program

  • The AETC NCRC was funded to coordinate and facilitate the development of a national curriculum to be used for self-directed learning by health care providers as well as by trainers of clinical teams across the United States and its territories.
  • The AETC NCRC partnered with the regional AETCs associated with each of the Part A and B jurisdictional sites to develop the curriculum.

Partnering Regional AETCs

  • MidAtlantic AETC
  • New England AETC
  • Northeast/Caribbean AETC
  • South Central AETC
  • Southeast AETC

Curriculum Development Working Group Members (AETC Affiliation)

  • David Alexander (NCRC)
  • Philip Bolduc, MD (New England)
  • Cody Chastain, MD (Southeast)
  • Francine Cournos, MD (Northeast/Caribbean)
  • Karen Forgash (NCRC)
  • Linda Frank, PhD, MSN, ACRN, FAAN (MidAtlantic)
  • Rachel Galarza, MSHCM (South Central)
  • Leigh Guarinello, MPH (MidAtlantic)
  • Mary Jo Hoyt, MSN (NCRC)
  • Veronica Jones, MPH (NCRC)
  • Elizabeth Lazo, MPH (NCRC)
  • Nicolé Mandel (NCRC)
  • John Nelson, PhD, CPNP (NCRC)
  • Henry Pacheco, MD (South Central)
  • Susan Thompson (MidAtlantic)
  • Stacey Trooskin, MD, PhD (MidAtlantic)

Curriculum Reviewers

  • Amanda Bowes, MPH, NASTAD; Content Reviewer
  • Susa Coffey, MD, University of California, San Francisco; Content Reviewer
  • Britten Pund, BA, NASTAD; Content Reviewer
  • Dan Czajka, MPH, NASTAD; Content Reviewer
  • Debbie Isenberg, MPH, Isenberg Consulting; Content Reviewer
  • Nirah Johnson, LCSW, New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; Content Reviewer
  • MaNtsetse Kgama, MPH, New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; Content Reviewer
  • Alyssa Kitlas, BA, NASTAD; Content Reviewer
  • Danica Kuncio, MPH, Philadelphia Department of Public Health; Content Reviewer
  • William Short, MD, University of Pennsylvania; Content Reviewer
  • Cecil Tengatenga, MAR, Hartford Health and Human Services; Content Reviewer